Doves “the Places Between: The Best Of The Doves”.

Album: ‘The Places Between: The Best of Doves’
Released: 5th April 2010
Label: Heavenly/ Virgin Music 
So here we are, twelve years since Doves formed in Manchester and released the Cedar Room EP on the Casino Records imprint (funded by the one and only Rob Gretton) and ten years have elapsed since Doves epochal debut, “Lost Souls” was released on the legendary Heavenly Recordings. In that time we have been privy to a catalogue of genre-warping singles and a quartet of albums that have forced writers to go back to the thesaurus in search of new superlatives. These are “The Places Between”, A multi-format best of that has cherry picked the best from number one albums: ‘The Last Broadcast’ and ‘Some Cities’, last years critically acclaimed masterpiece, ‘Kingdom Of Rust’ and their generation defining debut ‘Lost Souls’. Indeed, from number 3 hit ‘There Goes The Fear’ to the Motown thump of ‘Black and White Town’ and the anthemic morning after glow of ‘The Cedar Room’. ‘The Places Between’ has been painstakingly sequenced by Jimi, Andy and Jez themselves in the way they want you to experience their last decades work, in short this is the definitive Doves Best Of.  
Furthermore, in addition to a host of B sides, rarities, and unreleased tracks that make up the second disc there is a smattering of brand-new recordings, ‘Blue Water’, Drifter (Featuring Cherry Ghost’s Simon Aldred) and the brilliant new single ‘Andalucia’.
The album comes in single disc and multi disc versions. The tracklistings are as follows: 
DISC ONE – The Best Of
1.                 There Goes The Fear        
2.                 Black and White Town        
3.                 Snowden        
4.                 Here It Comes        
5.                 Words        
6.                 Kingdom Of Rust        
7.                 Sea Song        
8.                 Pounding        
9.                 10:03        
10.               Catch The Sun        
11.               Jetstream        
12.               The Man Who Told Everything (Summer Version)        
13.               Andalucia        
14.               Caught By The River        
15.               The Cedar Room
DISC TWO – Rarities, B sides and alternate versions
1.                 Blue Water        
2.                 Eleven Miles Out        
3.                 Rise        
4.                 Darker        
5.                 Push Me On        
6.                 Willow’s Song (Bury Version)        
7.                 Valley        
8.                 Northenden        
9.                 M62 Song        
10.               Drifter        
11.               Friday’s Dust (Capitol Tower Session)        
12.               Almost Forgot Myself (Demo)        
13.               Your Shadow Lay Across My Life        
14.               The Last Son        
15.               The Sulphur Man        
16.               At The Tower (Instrumental Edit)        
17.               Reprise        
18.               Ambition        
19.               Firesuite (Noise Version)        
DISC THREE (DVD) features the videos for:
The Cedar Room
Sea Song
Here It Comes
Catch The Sun
Man Who Told Everything
There Goes The Fear
Caught By The River
Black and White Town (directors Cut)
Snowden (Live Edit)
Sky Starts falling
Kingdom Of Rust
Winter Hill
This feature was done by Matt Brown @ Stay Loose 
Many thanks to him from thenorthernline.

By peter on April 15, 2010

Check out all the pics

No Comments » RSS Comment Feed

No comments yet.

Leave a comment