The Heartbreaks: “jealous, Don’t You Know” New Single/tour….


 “The finest support band I’ve ever had” Carl Barat

 “Achingly beautiful” Independent

 “Matthew sings like an expelled angel. The one kicked out into the wilderness, unloved but full of emotion” Steve Lamacq

 Morecambe four-piece The Heartbreaks will release new single ‘Jealous, Don’t You Know’ on April 18th through their own imprint ‘Morecambe Rock’ on Tri-Tone/PIASUK and announce a UK tour for March/April.

 This will be the follow up to the singles ‘Liar, My Dear’ and ‘I Didn’t Think It Would Hurt To Think Of You’, both of which served as a staggering first glance at a band destined to be viewed in years to come as the bright and beautiful youth.

 ‘Jealous, Don’t You Know’ is three and a half minutes of rattling drums, chiming guitar and Motown hooks that tumbles with the knowing swagger and melodic lushness of all great life affirming pop. Soaring and swooning vocals and a shimmer that displays a love of Joe Meek 45s and girl-group soul, the sound is as classic as the idea, but the result is the most vital and arresting British guitar track in almost a decade. The single comes with the Edwyn Collins produced B-side ‘Remorseful’, a tale of love and loss set to blue-eyed Wigan Casino drums, a potent reminder of the quality of material the band reserve for B-sides.

 Following a critically acclaimed tour supporting Carl Barat last year, alongside headlining their own London shows and performing for Bono in Milan and at the Kitsune party in Paris, their March and April dates are set to take the combustible and frenetic energy of their live show to an even wider audience.

 The foursome, originally from Morecambe and now residing in Manchester, formed in May 2009 having bonded over shared passions; Motown, bittersweet romance and the English seaside. Still in their early 20s, it quickly became apparent that they harbour the same dream: to create a band that really means something to people.

 The Heartbreaks are Matthew Whitehouse (vocals), Joseph Kondras (Drums), Ryan Wallace (Guitar) and Deaks (Bass).

 Full tour dates are as follows;


Tues 15th       Leicester                 The Soundhouse

Weds 16th      York                       Fibbers

Thurs 17th     Edinburgh                Sneaky Pete’s

Fri 18th          Stockton-on-Tees     Ku Bar

Mon 21st        Liverpool                 Mojo

Tues 22nd       Oxford                    Jericho

Thurs 24th      London                   Gibson Guitar Studio’s

Fri 25th          Truro                      Bunters 

Sat 26th         Bristol                     The Cooler

Weds 30th      Bath                       Moles

Thurs 31st      Sowerby Bridge        The Puzzle Hall Inn


Sat 2nd          Cleethorpes              Cleethorpes Pier

Fri 8th            Nottingham              Spanky Van Dykes

Sat 9th           Manchester              Deaf Institute


Fri 13th          Brighton                  The Great Escape Festival

Wed 18th        Paris                      Les InRocks Festival

Sun 22nd        Manchester              Friends of Mine Festival


Fri 15th          Southwold               Latitude Festival



By peter on March 8, 2011

Check out all the pics

No Comments RSS Comment Feed

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.